poetry online

Ezine Directories and Selected Webrings

1. Every Poet.Comprehensive site with archives, resources, newsletter, forum and over 1300 links. http://www.everypoet.com

2. Verse. Contemporary poetry, with reviews and a good blogroll. http://versemag.blogspot.com/

3. Web del Sol. Award-winning collaborative venture covering literary and other arts in the USA. http://www.webdelsol.com

4. Contributors List. Ezines recommended by webdelsol-featured poets. Useful listing of personal favourites. http://www.webdelsol.com/Perihelion/p-links2.htm

5. Poetry Today Webring. Large webring of sites devoted to poetry and creative writing. http://www.poetrytodayonline.com

6. Poetry Pages. Approx. 160 poet's websites listed. http://www.poetrypages.com

7. Poem Online Somewhat commercial site with listings of poets, resources and poetry communities.

8. Small Press Bulletin. Short listing of ezines and magazines.

9. New Hope International Review. Short reviews of poetry magazines and books: mostly UK and not ezines, but useful all the same. http://home.clara.net/nhi/online.htm

10. Links to Poets. Individual poet's sites. http://www.pmpoetry.com/linkspb.shtml. Many dead links.

11. Hypertexts. Featured poet and good listing of individual poet's sites. http://www.thehypertexts.com/.

12. Poetry Kit. Good listing of UK ezines and individual poet's sites. http://www.poetrykit.org/.

13. GreatWorks. Good listing of websites containing innovative writing. http://www.greatworks.org.uk/links.html

14. Poetry Magazines. Southbank's (UK) Poetry Library listing of 70+ magazines: http://www.poetrymagazines.org.uk/magazine/issue.asp?id=376

15. Write Words. Over 300 UK poetry magazines and ezines listed. http://www.writewords.org.uk/directory/

16. LitRefs. Extensive listing of poets, magazines, publishers and more. http://www2.eng.cam.ac.uk/%7Etpl/lit/poetry.html

17. Pinko. Alternative British poetry: poets and references. http://www.pinko.org/1.html

18. Shearsman. Small press publisher's list: contemporary UK and USA. http://www.shearsman.com/pages/editorial/links.html.

19. Tim Love's Poetry and Prose References. http://www2.eng.cam.ac.uk/~tpl/lit/poetryandprose.html. Needs updating.

20. Peter Howard: poetry sites and resources. http://www.peterhoward.org/poetry/. Extensive but a little out of date.

21. A Little Poetry: poets and resources. http://www.alittlepoetry.com/llpersonal.html. Short listings.

22. Hypertexts. http://www.thehypertexts.com/site%20and%20literary%20index.html. Extensive listings of contemporary and past poets.

23. FindPoetry. http://www.findpoetry.com. Popular and diverse listings.

24. Poetry Publishers Willing to Receive Submissions Electronically. http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~lcrew/pbonline.html. Over a thousand useful listings.

25. Poetry Kit. Long listings for the UK, USA and elsewhere, but much out of date. http://www.poetrykit.org

26. No Man's Land: Magazines that publish poetry translations. http://www.no-mans-land.org/links_translation_magazines.htm. Online and print, plus theory journals.

27. List of literary magazines. Wikipedia's extensive listing. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_literary_magazines

28. PN Review. Extensive coverage. Online access to all but excerpts of poems is £30/year. http://www.pnreview.co.uk/

29. Poetry Foundation. Formerly the Poetry Magazine: now a listing of some 3000 poets' work. http://www.poetryfoundation.org/

30. Review A Day. Some thirty outlets listed. http://www.powells.com/review/tls.html

31. The Reader Organisation. Connecting people to good literature, with links through to work by established poets. http://www.thereader.org.uk/

32. Arts and Letters Daily. Extensive listings of book reviews, etc. http://www.aldaily.com/

Commercial / Popular Poetry

The following aim at a popular audience, and sometimes have a commercial angle.

1. Starlight Cafe. Very fully-featured site. http://www.thestarlitecafe.com/

2. Net Poets. Poetry of love and the passion. http://www.netpoets.com

3. Love Poetry. Love poetry: old favourites and new submissions. http://www.lovepoetry.com

4. Shadow Poetry. Good range of genres and services. http://www.shadowpoetry.com

5. Cowboy Poetry. Family-orientated celebration of cowboy folklore. http://www.cowboypoetry.com/whatis.htm

6. Poetry.Com. Very popular site, but close to vanity publishing. http://www.poetry.com

7. iLovePoetry. Excellent range of classical poetry and contemporary. http://www.ilovepoetry.com

Literary Ezines and Online Magazines

A very small selection. Poetry Publishing Directories list over 3,000 small presses taking poetry, some 70% of which have Internet representation. Consult publications on markets and publishing.

1. Able Muse. http://www.ablemuse.com

2. Agni. http://webdelsol.com/AGNI

3. Archipelago. http://www.archipelago.orgI

4. Beloit Poetry Journal http://www.bpj.org/

5. Diagram. http://thediagram.com/

6. Big Bridge. http://www.bigbridge.org

7. Cortland Review. http://www.cortlandreview.com

8. Cyber Oasis. http://www.sunoasis.com/oasis.html

9. Edge City Review. http://www.edge-city.com

10. Electroasylum. http://www.electroasylum.com

11. Fence. http://www.fencemag.com

12. Great Works. http://www.greatworks.org.uk/.

13. Jacket. http://jacketmagazine.com/index.html.

14. Long Shot Magazine. http://www.longshot.org

15. Magma. http://magmapoetry.com/

16. Missouri Review. http://www.missourireview.org

17. Panic. http://homepages.which.net/~panic.brixtonpoetry/

18. Memorious. http://memorious.org/

19. Poetry Life. http://freespace.virgin.net/poetry.life/

20. Poetry Magazine. http://www.poetrymagazine.com

21. Poems That Go. http://www.poemsthatgo.com

22. Poetry London. http://www.poetrylondon.co.uk.

23. Rattle. http://www.rattle.com 33

24. Slope. http://www.slope.org 25

25. Vallum. http://www.vallummag.com/

British and American Poetry Online

1. Poetry Archives. 3700 poems by 145 poets. http://www.emule.com/poetry

2. CMU Index of Canonical Verse. Shorter poems by some forty odd poets. http://eserver.org/poetry

3. America Poetry Texts. Multimedia companion to Anthology of Modern American Poetry. http://www.english.uiuc.edu/maps/index.htm

4. UK Poetry Society's full-text digital library of English poetry magazines. http://www.poetrymagazines.org.uk

5. Academy of American Poets. Extensive selection. http://www.poets.org

6. American Verse Project. Includes text search facility. http://www.hti.umich.edu/a/amverse/

7. Bookworm Search. Search engine specializing in literature and related matters. http://www.bookwormsearch.com/

8. Blackbird Archive. Contemporary poetry and reviews. http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/v1n2/poetry.htm.

9. Forgotten Ground Regained. http://alliteration.net/. Alliterative and accentual poetry, traditional and contemporary.

Foreign Poetry Online

1. European Poetry. Western European Studies Section. Excellent links to European literature sites. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html

2. Russian Literature. Award-winning site for Russian literature and culture. http://www.departments.bucknell.edu/russian/

3. Non-European poetry. Short but very useful list of non-European literature sites. http://www.xs4all.nl/~pwessel/country.html

4. Urdu poetry. You can find many sites through an Internet search. 5. Turkish poetry. 20th century poets In Turkish and English: some excellent translations. http://www.cs.rpi.edu/~sibel/poetry/

5. Hindi poetry. Packed with information, examples and translations. http://www.cs.colostate.edu/~malaiya/hindiint.html

6. Chinese poetry. Comprehensive, translations of variable quality.http://www.chinapage.com/poetry9.html

7. Japanese Poetry. With helpful notes and translations. http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/japanese/index.html

8. Japanese Poetry. As before but with very extensive listings. http://lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~nagahata/JapanesePoetry.html

9. 13. Scottish and European Poetry. Essentially a catalogue of works in the Scottish Poetry Library, but their EPIC project provides online Scots poetry and a short listing of poetry sites. http://www.spl.org.uk

10. World Language Poetry. Books, tapes and CDs of poetry in world's leading languages. http://www.worldlanguage.com

11. Poetry Portal. Overseas poetry sites are continually being added to http://www.poetry-portal.com. Site also features a new poet each month.

12. 300 Tang Poems. Contains some 320 poems, most with English translation. http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/chinese/frame.htm.

Audio OnLine

1. Conjunctions. Selections from 800 authors in 15 years. Some RealAudio recordings. http://www.conjunctions.com/av.htm

2. Internet Poetry Archive. Texts and RA recordings of Milosz, Heaney, Levine, Pinsky, etc. http://metalab.unc.edu/ipa

3. SORGILL: Society for the Oral Reading of Greek and Latin Literature. http://www.rhapsodes.fll.vt.edu/Latin.htm

4. Urdu Poetry. Recordings of contemporary Urdu poets, often in concert. http://www.mushaira.org

5. Chinese Poetry. Classical Chinese poetry read in Mandarin. Texts on adjacent site. http://www.chinapage.org/readpoem.html

6. Poetry Archive. Online collection of poets reading their work. http://www.poetryarchive.org.

7. Pennsound. Extensive recordings of contemporary poets reading their work. http://writing.upenn.edu/pennsound/x/authors.php


1. Poems that Go. Impressive site that unites words, music, design and movement. http://www.poemsthatgo.com

2. Kaldron. In depth treatment of visual poets. http://www.thing.net/~grist/l&d/kaldron.htm

3. Light and Dust Poets. Extensive anthology: includes visual poems and poems with graphics. http://www.thing.net/~grist/l&d/lighthom.htm

4. Ubuweb. Visual, concrete and sound poetry. Now with good references. http://www.ubu.com.

Poetry Events

1. Academy of American Poets. http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/5. Easy-to-use, redesigned site.

2. Online Poetry Workshops, Conferences and Boards. Part of extensive poetry about.com site. http://poetry.miningco.com/arts/poetrycs/workshopsboards/

3. Calendar of Events. Poetry Society of America's calendar of poetry events. http://www.poetrysociety.org/

4. Poetry News. Articles from the UK Poetry Society's newsletter. http://www.poetrysociety.org.uk/news/pnews.htm

5. Poetry Slam Inc. Information on poetry slams in USA, Canada and Europe. http://www.poetryslam./com

6. Wordworx. News and listings for the New Zealand scene. http://www.wordworx.co.nz/

7. US State Poetry Societies. Lists those that have websites. http://www.nfsps.com/links.htm

8. UK Poetry Society. Events with the Society. http://www.poetrysociety.org.uk/news/events.htm

9. Write Out Loud. Performance poetry in the UK: articles, messages and events. http://www.writeoutloud.net//public/index.php